This table links towards the wedding regulations regarding the states and tries to summarize several of their salient points. Those enthusiastic about the wedding legislation of the jurisdiction that is particular review its legislation straight as opposed to count on this summary which could never be completely accurate or complete.
Related materials that are LII:
|State||typical Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||range of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit credibility (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 days, d||a couple of months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||–||–||–||1 Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No year||18||–||–||f||–|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||1 month, d, h||–||–||ninety days|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||–||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||–||–||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, ag ag e||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag ag e, k||18||–||i||3 times, l||thirty days|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||–||–||—-||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||–||m, n||–||–|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||–||p||one day||60 days|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 e||18||–||q||–||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||–||–||3 times||–|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||–||–||3 times, d||half a year|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||–||–||–|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||–||–||48 hours, d||six months|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||–||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||–||–||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||–||–||5 times, d||a few months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||–||t||–||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||–||i||–||one year|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||–||–||–||12 months|
|brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||–||–||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 ag ag e, u||18||30 days||t||–||–|
|brand brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||–||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 e||18||–||–||–||–|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag e||18||–||–||5 times, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||30 days, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||–||–||3 days, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||–||aa||–||three months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||–||–||one day||–|
|Southern Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag e||18||–||–||–||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||–||–||3 times, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles A and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||–||–||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||thirty day period, d||t||one day, d||–|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||–||ee||–||60 times|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||–||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag ag ag e||18||–||t||3 times, d||–|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||–||letter||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||–||i||–||–|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||thirty days||t||3 times, d||–|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 e||–||t||–||–|
suggests that the writers with this dining table were not able to discover any information about this issue
- (a) Parental permission maybe maybe not needed if small was once hitched.
- (b) Other requirements that are statutory.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial permission.
- (d) Waiting period could be prevented
- ( ag ag ag e) Younger parties may get permit in the event of maternity or delivery of son or daughter.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with neighborhood clerk.
- (g) No age limitations
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, perhaps not minors, have now been living together as guy and wife, they could, without wellness certification, be hitched upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal infection and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before expiration of twenty-four hour waiting duration; non-residents, before expiration of 96 hour waiting duration.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 several years of age or higher, or female is expecting, or candidates will be the moms and dads of a residing child created away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are specific exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (letter) candidates must get informative data on AIDS and certify having see clearly.
- (o) Judicial permission might be offered whenever moms and dads will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle cellular anemia offered at request of examining doctor.
- (q) Any unsterilized feminine under 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological reaction to rubella, or perhaps a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very very first birthday celebration. Judge may by purchase dispense with one of these demands.
- (r) If events are in minimum 16 years, evidence of age and permission of events in individual are needed. In case a parent is sick an affidavit by the incapacitated moms and dad and a physician’s affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor’s certificate should be filed 1 month prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal conditions. In WV and okay, Circuit court judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get permit in unique circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties require parental permission and authorization of judge, no younger than 14 for males and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle mobile are needed.
- (x) Applicants under age 18 must suggest that they usually have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If one or both events are below the age for wedding without parental permission, three time period that is waiting.
- (z) If an event does not have any parent living within state, and something celebration has residence in state for half a year, no authorization needed.
- (aa) real assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling needed.
- (bb) Unless parties are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour waiting duration after issuance of permit.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to offer for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of license to people under 18 and people formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be supplied with information about AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but events must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious venereal illness.
- (gg) No common-law wedding may be entered into, however these states recognize typical legislation marriages that have been entered into before these dates:
- Georgia- joined into ahead of January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Idaho- joined into just before 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Indiana- joined into just before January 1, 1958 are recognized,
- Ohio- entered into just before 10, 1991 are recognized october,
- Oklahoma – entered into just before November 1, 1998 are recognized, present situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into just before September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or perhaps January 1, 2005 (see 2004 home Bill No. 2719) are recognized.
- (hh) Minimum age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted minimum chronilogical age of 18 for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: located in component on a chart when you look at the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries have already been updated through analysis the statutes and links included allowing consultation that is direct of state statutes.